slova ira

based on real and imagined life

happy-ings. November 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — slova @ 4:29 pm

Time to say thanks to the cosmos for happy-ings via blog-post.

 

Happiness Shrine

Happiness Shrine

 

Jason/Family

Jason came to visit Austin to cure his homesickness. We went to FunFunFun Fest and he got to hang with some of his good friends. It was good to see my brother. (The Move-Jason-Back-to-Austin-Committee was in full effect.)In fact, I am happy to say that I have seen every one of my immediate family members (father, mother, sisters, brother, niece) in the span of one month!  (Now I MUST visit my grandmother, and soon!)  Hurray family ties!

 Music

 Speaking of festival fun, FunFunFun Fest was AWESOME! I got to see the Dead Milkmen (here is my youtube clip of Stewart!) with my brother (who intro’d me to the Dead Milkmen in the first place). I also got to party with the kids at the Dan Deacon show. That dude is the shiznit (i.e. party magic). The downside of the fest was that they didn’t prepare the ground and it is super-dry here. Therefore, Waterloo Park was a giant dustbowl which did major damage on my sinus cavities and lungs. (Better ground preparation next time, FFF folks!) All told, it was a great time and absolutely worth the mere $50 ticket.

 Gas

 

 

Ok. This is really weird, but also really awesome. The last two times I had to fill my tank with gas I did something I never do. I COMPLETELY filled the tank. To top it off (har, har) the total cost was no more than $20 each time!  Hurray for artificially inflated and now deflated gas prices!

 School

The semester is nearing a close. I can feel it. I am ahead of schedule in my Art course and simply have to finish my cute little art project to turn in next week and I’m done. I just have to make it through my Russian final and oral report and I’m golden. Whoo!

 

New President

I know that it’s not going to be a magical transition and make everything alright immediately. I’m not completely irrational. But I am 100% excited about Barack Obama as the next president. The morning after election night, I panicked when I realized I hadn’t immediately purchased a newspaper to save this moment in history for posterity. Then, on NPR I heard that newspapers were unavailable nationwide.  I stopped at a 7-11 in the afternoon to check it out, hoping to find a paper. No luck.  NPR was right as usual. By the end of the day, however, I had my paper. Aaron’s mother, Sue, had saved us a copy.  She’s rad. Anyway, I am so, so, so happy about this (I am not going into the sadness over Prop 8 because this is a happy blog-posting, k thx).
 

Leave a Reply

